Pharoahe Monch gästar Reks på singel från kommande album



Massachusetts-rapparen Reks är tillbaka med nytt album på sensommaren och bjuder nu på första singeln från projektet. Statik Selektah står på beatet och Organized Konfusion-legendaren Pharoahe Monch gästar. Reks förklarar konceptet bakom singeln “The Complex” för HiphopDX:


“The song tackles the nature of a socioeconomic system that utilizes political power to control social environments.”


“In my verse, I tackled the concept of the medical/pharmaceutical processes that keep individuals reliant on medication. The lack of healthy nutrition that keeps the patient-doctor relationship consistent and the hospital-pharmacy relationship thriving.”



Pharoahe Monch kunde lätt relatera till konceptet och lade en vers på ämnet:


“When Reks sent me the track and laid out the concept, he wanted me to approach the ‘complex’ from a military perspective, so I told the story from a first person narration of a active duty soldier that returns home only to suffer from PTSD. Conceptually, this combines the titles of my last two albums, W.A.R. and PTSD.“



Det kommande albumet “T.H.I.N.G.S. (The Hunger Inside Never Gets Satisfied)” ska släppas 11:e september 2020 och produceras av Evidence, D.R.U.G.S. Beats, Apollo Brown, Statik Selektah och Marco Polo.



Låtlista Reks “T.H.I.N.G.S”:


1. Strong.Ready.Able
2. T.H.I.N.G.S
3. MissEducation
4. Civilized Barbarians
5. The Complex f. Pharoahe Monch
6. Isis Daughter f. Rayel
7. Rachel Green
8. Ego
9. Brotherly Love
10. Legacy Driven
11. White House
12. Benjamin’s Dead f. Singapore Kane & Lil Fame
13. Animal Kingdom
14. King of the Town f. Lucky Dice & Chi Knox
15. Heartbreak, Farewell
16. The Wedding Song f. C Scharp & Queen Philosophical
17. This Village
18. Nana & Grampy’s Song
19. Still Dreaming