Ninetofive Records släpper ATCQ-inspirerat tribute-mixtape



Senaste månaderna har ett antal svenska och danska producenter samlats för ett A Tribe Called Quest tribute-mixape, initierat av Ninetofive Records grundare Linus Maximilian Jonsson och danske beatmakern Kongchain. Alla medverkade har flippat originalsamplingarna med sin egen twist. På tapet gästar även HAN Solo från det New York-baserade Pro Era-crewet. Streama nedan!





01. Xeren – Midnight Marauders Tour Guide
02. Lars Da Fari – Steve Biko (Stir It Up)
03. Sup Nasa – Award Tour
04. Phizz Mophou – 8 Million Stories
05. Truly Danny – Sucka Nigga
06. DAVR – Midnight
07. Ingredijens – We Can Get Down
08. ScratchMagic – Electric Relaxation
09. Hans SOLO & Jens Cook – Clap Your Hands
10. SWAB – Oh My God
11. Kongchain – Keep It Rollin
12. Thor Kvisgaard & Rob Smyles – The Chase, Part II
13. Martin Funkhouser – Lyrics to Go
14. Thovo – God Lives Through
15. Ras-H – Hot Sex



“The original A Tribe Called Quest classic “Midnight Marauders” from 1993 features 15 of the most well respected and well known tunes of the golden era of hip hop. This album is a true classic in the very essence of the word.

In the wake of the untimely death of the groups’ charismatic rapper Phife Dawg, Ninetofive Records’ founder and anchor Linus Maximilian Jonsson along with danish beatmaker Kongchain, decided to pay dues by collecting and curating a batch of beats from Europe’s most creative beat heads.

The concept was simple: flip the samples that A Tribe Called Quest used on the original album – and do it creatively for a fresh take on a classic.”